Flobadob

Robert returned to take the nails out of the new piece of coving this morning so everything crossed it does not fall down again!  Despite all the coverings, there was plaster dust all over so that took up the remainder of the morning hoovering and wiping down.  I took time out for some recorder practice ahead of my lesson tomorrow, and then uploaded my scanned photos in to Family Album 3. 

I've been out for a short walk around the 'pineapple circuit' (so called because of the stone pineapples adorning the wall around the old farmhouse).  They have been joined by Bill and Ben, so I paused here to take a blip across to our street.  I was hoping to capture Tony working in the allotment but he is hidden by the trees.  Whilst I took in the view I recalled three days way back when our girls were small and I organised an overnight camp for Becky's classmates in one of these fields.  There was one young man who talked non stop all day and evening, but when everyone fell asleep and the owls hooted and there were stirrings amongst the trees, he wanted his Mum.  I spent some time seated outside his tent chatting to him until he finally fell asleep.

Positive News
Friend Angela has discovered a magazine called Positive News which she has passed to me to read, both of us in need of some sunshine in the present climate.  So, from time to time, I may precis some of the articles here.  The first one I have read is about coral reefs which we all know are endangered by ocean warming.  However, marine scientists have discovered that reefs off the coast of volcanic Ambitle Island are flourishing, despite the naturally occuring conditions of high temperatures and acidity.  It is hoped that studies of the area will aid understanding of how coral can adapt to survive in warmer conditions, let's hope so!

For blippers unfamiliar with Bill and Ben, they were puppet flowerpot men in a 'Watch with Mother' (!) lunchtime programme when I was a child.  They lived in a greenhouse and their friend was Little Weed, and they had lots of garden adventures.  'Flobadob' was their language.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.