An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Photo of a photo...

Backblipped


The clear out of the study is complete.  

When I went through to see it I almost cried at how fantastic it looks.  There's been so much clutter through there for so long, I'd forgotten how big the space is and how peaceful.  A room with a lovely, calm, restful atmosphere.  

We have lost count of the bin bags of rubbish that have gone to the tip and 12 bags are ready to go to the confidential waste company.

So now that's done, I was able to get my boxes from the cupboard with all my old family photos.  After D and I pop our clogs, it will be left to family members on D's side to deal with our material belongings.  Old family photos of mine will not mean anything to them so I have decided to go through them, sort them into relevant piles and pass them to family and friends who feature in them, and they can then be passed on to their children/family.  They'll probably get binned when they go but I feel happier to be doing that than leaving them sitting in a box in my cupboard.  Plus I am sure the recipients will enjoy seeing them again, perhaps seeing some for the first time :-))

Of course there are many that I am not parting with, including all the pics of my mum.  This one was taken either 1959 or 1960.  I know this, as another photo taken the same day shows her with work colleagues that I know she worked with just before she left to go to London to join the Met.  She would be 19 or 20 here.

Of course my clear out took longer than necessary as its so easy to get engrossed in these things, especially the congratulations letters, cards and telegrams my mum received after the incident on the roof with the dad and his baby.  People knew how to write letters in those days :-)

By the time I finished it was dark.  Now over the next week or two I have to write my own letters to the those folks I am sending the photos to.  Some I have not been in contact with for a very long time.  I am looking forward to that :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.