MarkHyson

By MarkHyson

Printing Works

When I was an art student, many years ago, I studied in a building in Hastings called the Brassey Institute. It still houses the library on the bottom two floors, the art college was on the top two. In the printmaking studio at college, there was a view into the local newspaper printing works, and many hours were spent watching the huge rolls of newsprint being loaded and unloaded, running through the machines, printing yesterdays news.

However, as is the case with many similar businesses, the printing works was re-located and the building was abandoned. It has become an unauthorised centre for some wonderful street art, which I have yet to see as the entrances have been made more secure recently. Today (the building was sold at auction recently) a builder working there wouldn't let me in. so I may never get to see it. I did manage to catch this glimpse from the side door the builders were using.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.