And on to Cambridge

The trip is never ending.

A friend messaged last night to say that there was a taxi strike in Berlin today, starting 11am (against the conditions under which Uber and other ride sharing services are permitted to join the market). So we brought forward the timing of our departure in order to be sure of not getting caught up (although that meant that we went to the airport through the morning rush hour, but to be honest the Berlin Ring moves better than the Edinburgh ringroad does at peak times).

As a consequence, we had a fair amount of time to wait at the airport, especially me as my flight went one hour later.

However, it was one of the days when everything went smoothly. My flight into London City was by no means full (and nor was Mr A's to Heathrow). I'm not sure whether it is Coronavirus, travelling in the middle of the day, or the time of year. I messaged L from the DLR to see whether he was available for a quick lunch, and indeed he was (and with no forewarning). That was lovely.

Train onwards to Cambridge, and then I used the bus to get to the accommodation, which took me on a nostalgia trip through the city and the West Road area. After a brief rest, I went out for a pre-dinner walk (and to get a blip). This is the view from Magdalene Bridge (which I nearly spelt the Oxford way argh!). See the extra for a view of a famous college where I was a student many moons ago. My camera has been playing up a bit again, and I'm not sure about the quality of these photographs which were hand held.

Dinner was with JW, whom I've seen a few times recently. Good to catch up again (in an excellent Vietnamese restaurant). I ran out of steam around 8.30pm, and came back here and was soon fast asleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.