Great Court

Walking to my first meeting this morning, I ignored the sign outside "my" College and went through Great Gate, to be greeted almost immediately by a Porter, challenging my right to be there. Luckily I can still remember which years I was a student, and that seemed to suffice.

Thereafter I went to a meeting with the Press at Fitzbillies (for a nostalgic Chelsea Bun, added as an extra) and then on to the Faculty to present my paper. Chatted quickly to a few people I hadn't seen in years, and then back to the station for the long journey home. It was made longer by having split tickets, which made it cheaper, but on the other hand I had to build in sufficient waiting time at Peterborough.

Still plodding north, stopping at every lamppost in Northern England, or so it seems. London to Edinburgh trains don't stop anywhere near as often....

Looking forward to sleeping in my own bed tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.