Home from away

It is especially on returning from time spent away from Edinburgh that I tend to feel the overwhelming urge to blip the balcony view. This is especially the case when the light plays ball, as it did this morning. There were soft pastel colours which I don't think the photograph really does justice to.

I wasn't as tired today as I thought I might be, but even so the day didn't quite pan out as expected. Most of the morning was spent on catching up with various bits and pieces, and sorting out my emails. I then cycled up to the office to print out my proofs, and I intended to work there for the afternoon, but was stymied by a fire alarm. It obviously wasn't a test, as cycling down North Bridge I encountered two fire engines coming up the hill in a hurry. By the time I got home - frozen, because it was so much colder this afternoon than this morning - I didn't feel like going out again to a spinning class, so cancelled and spent a bit of time with my proofs at the dining room table (which is where you will find me for most of tomorrow).

Good to be home, but the world is such a mess, on so many counts. It's impossible to do any planning and I hate uncertainty. So probably from that perspective it's good to have the relatively mindless job of checking proofs for the next few days to avoid me brooding on too much other stuff, including trade negotiations, apparent repudiation of the ECHR by the UK, C19 (obviously) (including travel disruption and the possible shutting down of Parliament), a US election to be fought between male antiquities, and whatever else. The list is too long, and the anxieties some of the items on the list raise are too great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.