Exaggerated Perspective

The weather is very much better today, and I am feeling much improved.

Today is a Probus meeting and I am now the Equipment Officer  which means I set up all the electronic gear including loud speakers, mikes and projection screen.

The speaker today is talking about the Mars Training Ship which was moored in the Tay estuary for over 80 years until 1911.

Contrary to local legend it was not a "floating jail for villainous bad boys" but actually a training ship for homeless boys between 9 and 16".

The speaker sang songs from the period and gave a very interesting illustrated presentation.

Mars Training Ship

Afterwards a whole host of errands to be done, including visits to the Medical Centre to make an appointment for a Shingles Vaccination, Picking up medications from the Pharmacy and delivering bottles to the Bottle Bank.

On the way home, I stopped to take today’s Blipfoto of the Tay Road Bridge, looking toward Dundee.

The bridge slopes down toward Dundee which gives the exaggerated perspective effect.

Just to my left I came across a number of wreaths and flowers for someone’s Mother and Friend who had ended her life by jumping from the Bridge.

This happens far too frequently. Sometimes they are rescued and saved. Too many succeed.

The bridge signage is switched onto to display "the Bridge is Closed  Because of a Police Incident."

I gave a silent prayer for the mother and for the children and friends she had left.


During the afternoon I received a Jacqui Lawson card from an old friend Robert M who was inquiring about my health. Rather than reply I called Robert up and we have arranged to meet for lunch at the V&A at the other end of the Tay Road Bridge.

Just off to meet Pat off the Edinburgh Train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.