Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

They're Back!

The Great Blue Herons have returned to their nests so spring is really on the way!  I wanted to ride my bike here but it's on a dirt road that still has unavoidable muddy patches.  Instead, I decided to get my car muddy but it was already dirty and I washed it on the way home. :-)  It doesn't look like all the nests are occupied yet so they must be still arriving.  My extra is one of the trees with about 12 birds in it.  My main blip is a close up of the three birds on the highest nest in that tree.  There are three other trees that I can see from this spot with as many nests but they are harder to photograph.  I'll be back there frequently to watch them before the leaves grow and hide the nests.  It won't be long before my ospreys come back as well, probably a few more weeks.

I was right about the abscessed tooth and I'm now on an antibiotic.  I am grateful that it isn't as painful as others I've had!  The dentist said that we caught it early.  Unfortunately, he also said that the root is fractured and the tooth needs to be pulled...or I could spend thousands of dollars trying to save it and it still might need to be pulled.  I think I will wait and see if it clears up and then probably wait for it to get infected again before I do something about it. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.