Making plans

[Sorry for the quality of the photo - I had no idea it was this blurry until I posted it.]
This is the report of the findings from my home safety assessment.  Lex has ordered a safety bed frame and a reacher tool from Amazon, and will also send for a  commode chair to put atop the toilet if we don't still have my mother's in her basement.  We will also need another small round bath chair and two more grab bars for the bathroom.  It seems clear that I'll continue to need a wheelchair to travel long distances within the building for a few months after I return home, so I'll have to find a small one to rent..  But it shouldn't take long to get the apartment ready for my return.  Now I need to choose a life alert system.

I'm feeling less depressed because we've taken some concrete steps.  I don't know how soon they will decide it's safe to be on my own at home, but I'm hoping no more than a week.

The sad news today is that they've had to cancel Manda's baby shower that was to have taken place this weekend, due to the risk of coronavirus.  Manda is heartbroken, but we hope to be able to have some sort of celebration once the weather is warm enough to do something outdoors where people can have fresh air and space between themselves to minimize risk.

Worked hard in PT today and now have a backache, which I hope will be gone when I wake up.  And I'll get to have another shower tomorrow.  So I'm trying to keep my spirits up.  All your encouraging wishes make such a difference in my mood, so I can only say thank you so much once again.  You are the best..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.