Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Floating Bridge

(5/3/20)

I got to work today to suddenly realise I felt really tired. I mean, REALLY tired, as if I hadn't slept, so I decided to visit the offices "Marhaba" lounge and get myself a double espresso.

Well, being a new machine and all that, I didn't quite see there was simply a Double Espresso button to press. I pressed the normal button twice but my mug looked so empty, so I pressed it again. On the third time, I spotted the Double button, so went ahead and pressed that. BIG MISTAKE, especially that I drank it all despite knowing the possible consequences. Let's just say, I felt even worse after drinking my mug of coffee.

By noon, I was more than ready to call it a day. G was supposed to pick me up at 1, but I knew I'd never last, so I just got a taxi home. Think I ended up taking a Lavylites Pentyll heart tablet to combat the effects of five shots of espresso. It helped. A bit.

We had the last practice for the World Day of Prayer at HTC. I so wanted to opt-out of it but went along with G without my guitar I hasten to add. The ladies went through the order of service, singing just one verse of each song. I was so pleased to be getting on with the day. The last thing to do was to go back to Carrefour in Festival City where it is the last day of a Cooking Offer (this being Food Festival time). They are selling premium basmati rice at 50% so we bought three bags! One for us and two to give away!

SO pleased to finally be home and just chill out. I felt flu-like symptoms but typing this out today (5th March), I think I was genuinely tired and just needed to STOP. G has the next two weeks off school which is supposed to be followed by two weeks of Spring break. I think the government are trying to offer e-learning alternatives but the kids aren't the least bit interested. Coronavirus is now seriously beginning to affect our lives. :(

My blip is of the view looking towards the Creek Golf Club as we drove to Festival City. We were right next to Floating Bridge so it made sense to use it. It was busy with Sharjah commuters but not too bad. And I should just record what a beautifully clear and cool evening it was. I wish I had the energy to be out and enjoy it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.