Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Reflecting

It's been quite a day! I did nearly three hours at work before G picked me up. We headed straight to St. Mary's (Catholic) Church to handover a flyer to one of the Nuns, inviting her to the World Day of Prayer on Saturday. I was really struck by how calm and unhurried it was there considering there is a very large school (that I went to when I was a kid) attached!

We popped into Wafi after that; to get a new battery for my watch and also Carrefour's deal on a 5kg bag of rice. Neither of those errands was successful, but we did buy a few other things at the hypermarket. It was nearly 1:30 when we got home for lunch. Phew!

We took my newly married cousin and her husband out for dinner in the evening. She's been in Dubai for a few years now, but we've not had the chance to have a proper chat until today. Bad man!

We got home to learn that events are now being cancelled or postponed due to the Coronavirus outbreak. G might find herself on an early Spring break. Yikes!

PS. Forgot to mention... G got to the car only to find the driver's side front tyre was flat. That's the third in almost as many weeks! Fortunately, the Iranian tyre shop was open before 8 and the guy came round to pump up the tyre so she could safely drive it to his shop to get it fixed!

My blip was taken in the morning while I waited to be picked up. I love the reflection of the Dubai World Trade Centre on its neighbour, Jumeirah Living, which is where we were on Saturday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.