A good two quid's worth!

Another mixed day. I worked at home in the morning and after lunch, having taken Mrs M to the train and spent some time (not much) at the gym then done a bit of shopping I went home, made myself a cuppa and sat down to watch an episode of 'The Waltons'. I am quite unashamed to admit that 'The Waltons' is my favourite TV series of all time and I remember watching some of the series back in the seventies. However I have Series 1, 2 and 3 on DVD and no doubt will find the other six sometime!! There are 221 episodes in the 9 seasons.

The episode I watched today had a boy of 17 who is suffering from leukemia and has been given less than a year to live. He tells John-Boy at one point that of everything that he might miss, sound would be the greatest loss, particularly all the sounds on Walton's Mountain. I got to thinking about this and decided that I would find sight the greatest loss, and at that point the sun popped out from behind a cloud and shone through the rain-spotted window right at me. I jumped up and fetched the camera and took a few dozen pictures through the window - different exposures, focus etc and didn't really like any of them that much. I messed about with a few and put one of them on as an extra to save wasting all that energy!

My main Blip today is of an ordinary hyacinth, a pot of three bought a couple of weeks ago at Lidl for £2. I kept it outside as long as possible - if they're brought into the warmth too early the stems grow straggly and need staking - and took it into the kitchen a few days ago. Well worth £2, I thought, so I bought another pot today, pink this time!

Quote of the day:

Mahatma Gandhi - “What do I think of Western civilisation? I think it would be a very good idea.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.