I've been framed!

After a mixed morning weather-wise the sun came out and after lunch I dried the seat on the deck and prepared to sit outside with a book. Then it began to rain! I rushed out and covered the plastic boxes which I'm using as temporary cold frames until such times as my glasshouse is finished and I can build a cold frame at the end of it. The two longer boxes are sold in Homebase as 'Christmas tree storage boxes'!

Last year a lady living nearby gave me the framed sliding glass panels from the top of her cold frame as she no longer used it. When I went round not long afterwards to collect the timber box to go with it I found that her gardener had smashed it up! So some day I'll make a new one. Meanwhile these boxes make an excellent substitute.

Quote of the day:

Cecil Roberts, 'The Grand Cruise' - "Japanese music is for Japanese ears."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.