authentic

Today the internet allowed me to hear a track I last heard fifteen years ago (and then only once). Some slight discrepancies in accent and the positions of a few graces notes but otherwise much as I recalled (and my version was probably slightly better). Unless something similar to the way that reading something out of the corner of the eye sometimes results in garbling the letters of a word is happening it would suggest that there's some kind of combination of remembering-as-sound-sample and remembering-as-sequence going on... likewise I recently got round to downloading a song which had been trundling round my head for a bit and found that I'd misremembered the singer though had appropriately adjusted what I was hearing when thinking the song.

I used my extra day off to not unpack my various holiday-bags, not process any holiday pictures and not do anything much useful apart from popping to pick up a bunch of tickets for the Filmhouse's Kubrick season and popping to see Watchmen. Worth seeing but in no way the best job which could have been done of the translation (and I'm not a lifelong fan and only read the original once at the end of last year after the release date was confirmed) and unfortunately reduced in places to a mere actioner, albeit a heavily stylised one similar to 300 and which works for the same reasons (both in terms of the style and in the places where frames have been replicated exactly). The title sequence is very very good (particularly the music and the odd enlightening historical mock-up). It works as a film-based-on-a-comic but not the one it's supposed to resemble... less concentration on the fighting would have been better and would have left more time for the excised bits. Alternatively, leave the fighting in but reduce the amount shown in slo-mo and add the excised bits back in too and just accept that some films have to be five hours long. Might be worth a repeat viewing and the DVD is by all accounts likely to be somewhat extended but it's probably worth having a poke at the source before seeing it if you haven't read it just so that you know the bits which have been left out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.