SILLY SATURDAY - PAREIDOLIA

First of all, many thanks to all who left lovely messages, stars and hearts that got us on to the Popular page yesterday for our Wedding Anniversary.  We had a lovely day and have a very pleasant suite at the hotel, thanks to our friend, Darren, the Head Chef. However I saw more of the bathroom during the night than I would have liked so after a very disturbed night, we didn’t get down for breakfast until almost 10.30 this morning, which was a very light one of porridge and a small piece of toast for me!  

We did have different meals last night, so Mr. HCB was fine and all we can think is that I tried some of the sauce from his dish, forgetting that I am allergic to any sort of shellfish and the sauce contained mussels, hence the reason for my many bathroom visits.

Although I felt quite “wrung out” this morning, we went for a walk around the golf course, which did me good and there were lots of interesting things to see as you can see in the collage I’ve put in as an extra including fungi, spring flowers and sticky buds. 

When we went for a walk yesterday afternoon I had noticed this tree and thought immediately of my Blip friend, LSquare, who is the “Queen of Pareidolia”!  I told Mr. HCB that it would be a good one for Silly Saturday - so here it is, taken on our walk round the golf course today. 

I hope I will be forgiven for putting in the main shot in the collage as it was taken on yesterday’s walk, when the weather was sunnier than it is today, but all the others were taken this morning.  

This unusual sculpture is entitled “At First Light” by Maurice Blik. It is 25 feet long, and is so named because it is specifically designed for a site that catches the first light of dawn. The light highlights a male figure emerging from the earth and an ethereal female enveloping him. The piece illustrates the two complementary sides of all humans - so says the “blurb” in our room. We looked at it from all angles yesterday and again this morning but still don’t understand it - perhaps one needs a G & T to see the full significance of this!  There are other sculptures around the hotel and grounds - many of which are completely alien to us - we obviously need educating in this particular field of art. 

We are now relaxing in the hotel bar in front of a log fire and having just noticed a face in the fire, I have changed my shot of just the tree to make a pareidolic collage especially for Silly Saturday.  Kelvin, one of the hotel staff,   walked through and said how good the fire looked, so I asked him if he knew what “pareidolia” was - he said he had no idea, so I showed him my collage - told him it was seeing faces in everyday objects and, of course, told him about Blip - I think he was quite impressed! 

The most beautiful gift of nature 
     is that it gives one pleasure 
          to look around 
and try to comprehend what we see.”
Albert Einstein

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.