The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Hump day blues

Woke up at 6. Bomble (our cat) was heaving on the end of the bed! Funny how the sound always wakes me. Got up and removed the blanket, checked to see if it was still snowing (it was) and checked the council website. Our school was still open! And I didn't have to be at work till 10.30 but was now wide awake, and so was Bomble. Eventually we both went back to bed, but sleep never returned to me.

So after taking some pictures of the virgin snowfall, and breaking the ice on the hanging food tray for the blackbirds, I made my porridge and eventually set out to walk off the ice
shelf that is Highfield road. To my surprise, the going was easier than the day before. The pack ice under the snowfall is less compacted. I felt safer, and by the time I got to work near the town centre, I felt a right wally in my wellies!

Fewer children were in than usual, and I got out in time to catch the 1.30 bus home, for the first time this term. I have trained the volunteers in the art of packing up the play space in minimal time. Wanted to hurry so that I could pack my bag for the next job, also in town, but I got a call to say that it was cancelled as the tutor could not get into town from his village. Hoo-rah! I didn't want to go out again in the weather!

So CleanSteve stalked birds in the garden with his massive lens, and I, er looked at my comments from yesterday and thought about the unpopularity (with users) of pedestrian overhead bridges, and the history of Stroud bus station, 1960-2004. Blip is turning me into a total nerd. Still, it's social history, so that's ok, isn't it?

I'm still in blip denial. I am struggling again. I am avoiding. Perhaps when our road finally thaws out and the car is no longer living on the main road away from home, and I can resume running to work instead of hirpling with a stick, I will regain some enthusiasm. Hope so!

On a positive note, I am loving the audio ( read by Stephen Crossley) of Howard's End (it's so funny!) and CleanSteve and I have very nearly finished another jigsaw. We have loads of coal, food, and even chestnuts roasting on an open fire, or, to be accurate, chestnuts exploding out of the fire, flying across the room! Such is life in Our Street, a mile or two above the centre of Stroud.

This is a wooden spiral decoration for the garden that we bought at the Stroud (agricultural/artisanal) show a few years ago. It twirls beautifully in the wind. The lens of my tough camera got slightly wet, which explains the slight streakiness.

Hope you all had a happy hump day, or are even having a happy Thursday already, if you live in New Zealand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.