pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Keswick

For a long time, Keswick has easily been my favourite place in the Lake District for a number of reasons and I need little encouragement to visit.
One of those reasons being that The George Hotel does one of the best and largest fry-ups I have been fortunate enough to encounter and secondly, the jelly babies you can get from Friars are also top of their class.
Rather than just stuffing your face as I/we did today there is also the small matter of the lake (Derwentwater), the gorgeous light and the utterly stunning surrounding scenery.
 
Children love being outdoors, so clad in waterproof trousers and not-quite-as-waterproof-as-we-first-thought-boots we went in search of puddles, lakes and small streams to splash about in and hit the jackpot!
On reflection, I was pleased to have had a couple of spare jackets in the boot as the children were soaked through by the time we were heading home, but they were laughing away and cosily hidden and warm for the journey back.
Late afternoon we return and my eldest daughter who had remained at home had emptied the washing machine and was putting some dry washing away. Even I was lost for words!

Tea in hand we crashed out. The girls were curled up with each other watching a film and the boy and I settled down for the footie.

Evening now and am feeling the effects of being Dadman for another weekend, so time for an early night, hang up the cape and sign-off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.