MonoMonday: (Tasty) Shape

Today’s MonoMonday challenge, kindly set by Apollofly, is “Shape”.
 
I decided on a Doughnut (?Donut?) shape, which is really quite interesting mathematically. I thought it would be described as a “torus”, but apparently that would only be correct if the doughnut was hollow. As it’s solid (well I hope it is – I’ll find out when I bite into it later!) it should correctly be called a “toroid”.
 
According to Wikipedia, a toroid is a “surface of revolution with a hole in the middle” and “the axis of revolution passes through the hole so does not intersect with the surface”.
 
To put it slightly more simply, you could “draw” the shape in 3D by taking a disc and moving it round in a circle with the centre of the circle in the middle of the hole.
 
Apart from doughnuts (clearly their most important and critical use!), toroids have other uses too. For example, some electric circuits use a toroid as an inductor, winding a coil of wire around a doughnut-shaped core of (eg) iron. They’re particularly useful in medical imaging equipment. There's also the Joint European Torus (Ok, not a toroid) working on nuclear fusion.
 
I hope I’ve got all this maths right – I had to look it up! If I haven’t, I suspect that Son#2 will correct me, as his maths degrees included work on algebraic topology.
 
The added bonus is that I’m about to eat the evidence…Mmmmmh!

(Creating this blip cost me 80p at the local bakery...but I suspect it'll be worth it with every bite!)

(PS Yes it was worth every penny, Yum!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.