Tiny Tuesday - tiny teddy slices

Last night's camera group included an interesting demonstration of focus stacking. I've tried before with varying levels of success but I thought I'd have another go today. 

It wasn't entirely successful. You can see, especially in the front bottom left of the image, where whole areas of the subject were missed out, leaving blurry slices amidst the detail. There's also considerable aliasing around the box and the string handle.

I shot sixteen RAW files, stacked in Affinity Photo 1.8.1 and finished in Luminar 4.1.0. The iMac isn't a sluggard - 2019 spec 3.6GHz 8-core i9 with 72GB of 2667MHz DDR4 and a Radeon Pro Vega 48 8GB graphics - but the merge of sixteen 123MB RAW images took nearly an hour.

I may try again. But I thought I'd keep this first effort using the new camera and the new computer, as a lesson in pointlessness. It's that kind of day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.