The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

I-mmigrate, Lives of Colour exhibition

I started out bussing to Cheltenham today, to visit the dentist. The Cheltenham races week has not been cancelled, (because too much money is involved?) and some people in fancy hats and dresses were observed boarding the public bus.

My dentist is Portuguese, but told me that she has become a British citizen, and is allowed to stay. Good for her! Treatment was brief. I then went to the not-so-crowded bookies ' to bet on some horses, guided by tips I'd got on the bus, then left the mob behind and took a rural bus route to Gloucester.

Once there, I visited the I-mmigrate portraits exhibition at the deserted museum of Gloucester . It was good, but not as good as the Bremerhaven museum,. To get the accompanying audio, one had to scan a QR code on one's phone, and that only worked for me once. I would have preferred a pre programmed audio guide, although hygiene is an issue right now....

The cafe area had turned into a deserted self service machine and shop, so I popped into my favourite cafe, at the Guildhall, for a coffee break. I am pleased to say there's a film on there next week that I might be able to catch. It's something French.

After exploring the demolition work around King's Square, the former bus station, and Bruton way multistorey car park, I made my way back to Stroud by bus. It was too early to check my race results at the bookies'. Tomorrow will do. I'm not hiding my breath.

In other news, I am delighted to announce that one of my short stories has made it to the long list for Stroud Short Stories, which is now a prestigious event. The last time I had a story that made it to the shortlist was in 2011, when the event was much more low key. If shortlisted this time, I will have to read it to an audience in April. Or possibly to an empty stadium.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.