The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A pool of sky

I'd hoped to go for a walk with a friend today, but the weather was alternating between sunny spells and heavy showers. Last night's storm had knocked over a chair in the garden, and we'd gained a large sheet of cardboard.

My delivery of cards arrived: something for everyone. I'm delighted with the new range, my current favourite being the oystercatchers. (I am not the artist, but I do sell these Uk-printed cards. You can see them at www.helenascards.co.uk). I started sorting them out, then stopped for lunch (cheese on toast).

My new book has arrived: the Complete Acid Reflux Diet Plan. The plan has already started, in that I'm not even drinking decaffeinated coffee at the moment, but this is altogether more serious. On the other hand, I've had some horrific symptoms of LPR (laryngopharyngeal reflux, or silent reflux) this year, and need to take action. I tried a different diet plan a few years ago, but lost too much weight, so gave up. Now it's time to get my quality of life back. Fortunately the book already assumes gluten free eating, and it explains FODMAPS and how to reintroduce them gradually, following elimination. I'll keep you posted.

CleanSteve and I drove up to Stancome Beech Farm shop, where he sells his cards, to get some vegetables, and a melon for tomorrow's smoothie. Rain came tipping down, spoiling our plans for a walk, but we drove around the hamlets on the hillside, stopping and leaping out every time we glimpsed a good view or a ray of sunshine.
Finally we were able to take a short stroll along the unrestored section of canal at Baker's Mill, beyond Chalford. The temperature was on the low side, and I wasn't dressed for the rawness of mid-March, but I enjoyed a glance at other habitats, including a fine old mill house with a fishing lake, whose owner keeps an otter (not in the house!) and supports rescued wild otters at a sanctuary in Devon.  

This little rainwater pond had formed at the edge of the stagnant  canal, but the water was clear,  reflecting the catkins on the tree above. How could I not blip it?
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.