Life In Wales

By KarenC

Low Tide

With living by the sea I follow the tide timetable so I know when it's high or low tide and in particular so I can see when it's a particularly low tide which it was today at 0.3m.  Sunrise was at 6.19 am and to low tide coincided at 6.48 am so I set my alarm for 5.45am as I'd arranged to meet Amanda, Irina and Rose at the beach.   I didn't actually sleep very well, waking up every hour just like I do when I have to catch an early flight, but at least it meant I didn't oversleep, and I got up at 5.20am and I was out of the house by 5.45am.

Not only was I rewarded by the sunrise, but also the moonset (see my extra), it was a really beautiful morning.  I met Amanda down by the West Pier, but Irina and Rose had started at the Palace Pier so we only saw Irina in passing as we were walking along the beach to the Palace Pier.  We didn't actually see Rose as she drove between the piers rather than walked, and by the time we were heading back she was cold and ready to go home.

It was absolutely beautiful (a bit different to my pier shot the other day!) and well worth the early start as it's so lovely to see the sand which is only ever visible at such low tides.  By the time we got to the Palace Pier it was about 7am and there were so many people there - the sea swimmers, the worm diggers, the metal detectorists, the dog walkers and of course the photographers.  I met one young guy who was in awe and commented that he'd never seen it like this before.  I asked if he was visiting but he said he'd moved here 6 months ago, so I explained about the tides and gave him the details of the App so he would know when it would be like this again.

I struggled with my choice of blip but I chose this one as although I couldn't get the whole pier on, it captures the morning with all those different people just enjoying their time at the beach how ever they chose to spend it. We wandered back along the beach and did a bit of beachcombing looking for sea glass - Irina finds a lot of it and makes jewellery from it. I managed to find 3 pieces and gave Irina two of them as we passed her going in the opposite direction.

I got home at about 8.30am and made scrambled egg, smoked salmon and avocado for breakfast as I was starving by then,  and as Alan was working from home, he had some too.  I then went out to do a food shop at Aldi - I normally go to Asda or Sainsbury's but both stores are very low on certain items but I'd been told that Aldi was well stocked.  I'm glad I did as they had everything including toilet rolls, the only thing I couldn't get was liquid hand wash of any kind, and of course anti-bac hand wash.

This afternoon I popped over to see Elif and Luca for an hour and then had another torture physio session - it must be doing some good, but it always feels worse after I've seen her!

And the main news today is of course the Coronavirus and I'm totally amazed at the interview that Boris gave - to say that we are are all likely to lose loved ones before there time, but in the second breath says that he's not going to close schools and postpone events because it's Draconian!  They've also said that they're not going to test anyone unless they're in hospital - of course that keeps the official numbers down doesn't it?  I think it's time the UK followed the lead of other countries and start taking this seriously.  

Stay safe and well out there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.