Fade to Grey

It's been a very grey, foggy day today so definitely a day for black and white photography.  I had time to stop on my way to work this morning, so I nipped down onto the beach where there were some lovely little birds  which I've since found out were Ruddy Turnstones.

A busy day at work, and I was a bit p****d off as it appears that there's no guarantees that I can have my new hours now due to the new member of staff leaving!  They've re-advertised and are holding interviews on the 20th, and I had a chat with Nik, but he wants to wait until we get another new member of staff before confirming my hours (even though he'd already confirmed them) 'because we might get someone that wants to work 4 days, not 2.5 days'!  What about looking after the staff you've already got?  And surely when you advertise a position, you stipulate the working hours?  Basically I can have the extra hours but they're not contractual and therefore only overtime, which means I'm not entitled to an increased holiday entitlement.  Bex our office manager said she had tried talking to Nik and said that this isn't how you do things, but he's not taking any notice.   She advised me to put my thoughts in an email, which I've drafted tonight.

I'm now getting a concerned about Coronavirus, particularly as Italy and Saudi have gone into lockdown,  and I think its only a matter time before the UK has to do the same thing.  Alan's company have now banned all travel, BA have banned all flights to Italy and other countries are closing schools - meanwhile, everyone's panic buying loo rolls and paracetomol!

Whilst all this is going on, my thoughts today are with Emmy & The Hazyland Boys after the sad loss of Hero.  RIP gorgeous boy x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.