Peewit

I mentioned a few days ago that it seems Scottish Water are at last attending to the C17 spring heads of the Comiston Springs that provided the first piped water supply to Edinburgh. I have been banging on about them ever since I blipped the Sandglass Spring in my early days of Blipping (that now sports a horizontal concrete cap, which is unlikely to resemble the original, however secure).

Recent clearance of shrubs and trees that had colonised the site of the Hunters Tryst Primary School has exposed the Peewit #1 (teuchat) Spring. It is now obvious how the condition has deteriorated, with gaps between the stone and growth of plant material. The Peewit #2 spring is on the same site, around 60m to the south.

I understand all the Spring Heads are on the Buildings At Risk register and expect that, before too long, they will be restored. They are lovely, individual, wee buildings which have been overlooked for too long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.