New Buds

When, in early November, walkingMarj mentioned that she allowed her Amaryllis to dry out before repotting for the new season, I realised that I had been wrong to keep watering and feeding my giant, so followed her advice and duly watched as the strapping green leaves gradually faded and dropped.

This took rather a long time so I proceeded before the last leaf had died, finding an even larger pot and starting to water again. Suddenly this stem has grown with a big, fat bud, and today I see another peeping out at the base.

It was then I remembered that three years ago it was given a very large pot, after it had thrown itself on the floor, and was probably quite happy in it, so I don't forsee any major upgrades for a couple of years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.