Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Checking Out the Sunset

A day in heaven.  Started at Surprise View above Derwent Water before breakfast.

Then the plan was to go high, starting from the Honister Pass.  I'd been up Dale Head before and knew that it was a mile drag up hill to the summit.  I saw my first snow at about 1800 feet, 600 feet below the summit, but it never got deep, despite having my crampons in the rucksack.  From Dale Head it was across to Hindscarth and then onto Robinson before returning to the car.  I've put a couple of extra images to show the views looking north and south at various points on the walk.  

I got back mid afternoon, heading back to the hotel to freshen up before driving to Latrigg hoping for an interesting sunset.  This shot was a good hour before sunset, but gave the best conditions.  The two gentlemen taking in the scene were a bonus, especially as they stood still while I bracketed exposures to control the light in the scene.

the day was finished off with a fish and chip supper on the edge of Derwent Water.

Day Miles: 8.7 miles       Total Miles: 336.7 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.