An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Table for Two...

Backblipped 24.01.13

Still snowing here.

After David left for work and Alan to school, I tidied the kitchen then applied myself to preparing the Immortal Memory I am delivering at a Burn's Supper on Saturday night. I've done the Reply to the Toast to the Lassies a couple of times and that's fun as it's mainly about taking the piss joking fondly about men's little foiables. And no, that's not a euphemism! ;)

The Immortal Memory is a different kind of speech entirely and requires respect and at leasst some knowledge of the life and works of the wonderful Robert Burns so today was spent doing lots of research and do you know, I loved every minute. Will ponder all that I have learned overnight and write my tribute tomorrow.

Was glad when both my boys were home safely. Lazy dinner tonight. Pizza. When David was getting Alan ready for bed, Alan was sick and David noticed he was running a temperature. Also his nose was full of gunk. Can't believe my boy is under the weather again! This is the third bout in 6 weeks. Not fair!

Just about to get Alan into bed when there was a power cut! Great. Looked out the window and saw that all the streetlights were out in ours and the neighbouring streets so relieved to know it wasn't just us. Not great timing when you have a child about to throw up! Just got the candles sorted when the power came back on.

Phew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.