Abandoned

An afternoon walk, having spent a good part of the day letting go of the issues that take up so much of my head most days. Entering Grey Lynn Park from Williamson Avenue, I felt more than saw the emptiness in that corner of the park. At first it seemed as if it was just a bit of tidying around the base of the small pohutukawa trees. Then I realised that they had been pruned to expose their centres.

A few paces further on, I could see that a steep bank was exposed as all undergrowth has been removed. Further looking and I saw first one and then three or four other stumps where big trees have been felled. I climbed the bank and saw the abandoned hire bicycle by the first stump that I had seen from below, and all the other stumps.

I guess this is another example of the Council removing "unwanted" non-native trees. In this process they are removing significant carbon sequestering and the new growth will take many years to replace the old. Then again, maybe the trees were unstable; the stump looked unremarkable.

I've included as an extra, a photo of a myna. It looks as though it has lost most of the feathers around its head and neck. I'm hoping the bird site will have someone who can tell me what is happening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.