The second half of life..

By twigs

Mixed day

Today heralds the first anniversary of the Christchurch mosque shootings, an unbelievably black day for New Zealand and for the world.  The official commemoration service to he held today was cancelled yesterday due to the coronavirus threat.  Despite there being no big or 'official' commemoration the events of last year have been quietly acknowledged throughout the day in various ways.  I would like to think that, one year on, those whose lives were lost to an extremist individual, have taught us all about the value in understanding differences,  accepting diversity and honouring love over hate.

Today was also the day when the coronavirus reached the South Island of New Zealand, and the total national numbers began to jump.  They're still small, but the change has had enormous effects on sport, entertainment, meetings, tourism etc and consequentially we are bracing for further effects in schools, employment, the economy.........such unprecedented, rapid change is sure to take its toll for a long time yet.

And for something much more positive.......

I think it was one of my blip 'down times' when my bike was stolen from my shed.  I'm pretty sure it was sometime around springtime 2018 and since then, I have been bikeless.  Not that that I was an ardent biker or the bike was very valuable or anything, but it peeved me immensely that someone would come onto my property and help themselves to my belongings.  Low lifes.

Anyway, I knew I wanted to replace the bike at some point (the insurance payout was laughable) and there began two dilemmas: firstly, why would I buy a new bike only to put it into the same shed and risk it being stolen again?  At this point I should mention that my 'shed' is old and run-down, probably an old farm building from around the time the house was built in 1875.  It doesn't have - nor has ever had - a front/main door and nothing has ever been stolen. For the past 7 or so years my old van had it's 'nose' in the shed doorway effectively blocking the view and access through the front.  Anyway, short story, I wasn't going to buy a new bike until I had a secure shed to put it in, so in December 2018 I had a [much smaller] shed built. Fantastic.  Security now dealt with.  The second dilemma was a bit more challenging: whether to go for a 'regular' bike or buy an ebike?  I have two sets of friends who have almost polar opposite ideas about the sense or otherwise of an ebike so there were some good discussions!  After quite some time, much discussion, deliberation, research and finally, some actual window shopping, I decided to take the plunge and buy an ebike.  

I went down to the store this morning with J who brought some ebiking experience with her and half an hour later I walked out with this baby.......  Woo hoo :)  Took him for a ride to familiarise myself with a few things late this afternoon and was very happy indeed.  He's now tucked up in bed in the locked shed, padlocked to a large shelving unit.  Paranoid?  Me?? Haha.  I'm looking forward to getting out and about with him and becoming more active and maybe even adventurous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.