South of East

It actually seemed warm enough out to work outdoors. But then the wind began to whip up a bit and just as I was getting to a delicate operation with my soldering iron there was a flash in the sky and roll of thunder. And then the rain came down, so that was that.
Back to read some; plenty gallows humour on Twitter. Marina Hyde notes that for now, there is a distinct war-by-other-means to what we might euphemise as "the discourse" around coronavirus, on social media and beyond. People have been very used to entrenching on leave and remain lines; now we seem to have almost reflexively self-split into Panickers and Deniers. 
I better be careful or the split in our household will become too obvious, but when I heard that Ireland had closed all its bars, just as with my parting thoughts yesterday, I realised it had gone too far.
Anyway, later, finished The Pharmacist. What a crazy driven guy, but just brilliant. Since 2001, a title card states, more than 400,000 Americans have died from opioid overdoses. That’s a few more than from covid-19 but don’t let me upset the priorities. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.