I love to use fresh herbs in my cooking

so they deserve a little tlc, & today was their lucky day, a sprinkle of chicken pellet manure & fresh soil top up. Mint, sage, lemon thyme, common thyme, & chives all spruced up for the coming year. Lots of other jobs done in the garden,  agapanthus, nerines, & acers tidied up and top dressed.
First job this morning, nip to Trago to pick up a bag of John Innes 3, chicken pellet manure & an effective bug spray. The viburnum in the hedge at the front of the house has been decimated by viburnum leaf beetle. I was too late treating it last year, but this year I'm prepared.  I noticed they had pallets of kitchen roll & toilet roll on offer as I walked through the store. Next the Coop. Mum needed a few bits, so did I ... The car park was busy, that was not a good sign, lots of customers inside, & nothing on the shelves. No bread, fresh meat, fruit, veg, I bought the only bag of onions available. No flour of any description, tinned foods, snacks, laundry washing liquids???? .......... I could go on, but I'm sure you have experienced the same. Customers discussing whether you could freeze fresh milk  .. Unbelievable!!! They did have cases of Magner's fortunately.

Another day in the garden tomorrow I reckon. I checked out one of my compost bins this morning, I reckon it's ready to use, perfect for mixing in with the heavy garden soil in one of my raised beds, then popping in the broad bean plants.   I potted on the Dramera, it apparently likes a clay soil, well I knew exactly where to find some clay, not at the clay pits just outside CK, no, on the top of the hedge we cut back last week. Weird I know but I slipped on the large clods enough times so headed up with spade in hand. Perfect mixed with some J.I No3 & peat based compost. I  hopefully now have one very happy umbrella plant.

Nothing Irish related for St Patrick's Day I'm afraid, I had to settle for the tiny leaves of the thyme.

Thanks to jensphotos for hosting




:- )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.