Hmong textile art, 'Paj ntaub',

panels of hand embroidered decoration as seen in the bottom section of this traditional Laos skirt were designed & applied to skirts worn for courtship during New Year festivals. Different patterns & techniques of production are associated with geographical regions within the global Hmong community. The Hmong language did not  become alphabetized until 1950 so the patterns & designs in their clothing expressing their experiences were known as story cloths. I bought this skirt at a night market in Luang Prabang in 2004. I don't remember what I paid for it, not very much that's for sure. It's really heavy, weighing 2lb 7oz. the waist band approximately 40" in length, a wrapover, & rather grubby but I've never felt confident enough to put it through the machine. I've no idea what I will do with. I've seen bags made & sold using these fabrics but again that's something I could'nt do. The Hmong tribes women that I saw in Vang Vieng morning market were really tiny, so I can't imagine them wearing this type of skirt for anything other than for a special occasion. I wonder if it was worn for a courting ceremony. More tradition than history I know. I left it a little late to go in search of a historical blip as I've been toiling away on the allotment most of the day.

Popped in to the local Coop here in Chudleigh first thing this morning hoping I might find some fresh meat products for sale. Wrong! Well, 1 pack of gammon steaks, which I bought btw, guess what's for dinner. Again, no flour of any kind, BUT I did manage to buy 2 cartons of Greek style yogurt, 1 for me, 1 for Mum, we both eat it for breakfast. To the allotment, flask of black coffee, to keep me fueled up. I turned 3 veg beds, top dressed each with some lovely rich homemade compost, set in a couple of retaining planks, an improvised type of raised bedding. The ground is so heavy, I hope the top dressing improves it slightly. The weather is supposed to turn over the next couple of days so I could be housebound ... ARGHHHH!
My husband & I are disagreeing about most of what is going on, & now he's complaining about me typing ... It does'nt bode well .... Any of it!! The greedy people who have cleared the shelves in the supermarkets, the individuals who ignore the restrictions ..................... I might move my bed up to the greenhouse, or allotment shed.

Now off to make dinner ...........

Thanks to steveng for hosting Wide Wednesday, adding the tag historical. Hysterical might have been more appropriate if we had known. Hey ho!!! Happy days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.