Wood-lathe Wednesday

Not that cabin fever has set in yet, quite, but I once did woodwork at school. Woodwork classes were legendary at my school because one of the teachers had a habit of losing fingers. Mallets were often misused and occasionally went through windows, sometimes not open. It was that kind of school. I didn't follow up on my studies...

When, later, I had more cash than time (certainly successfully reversed that), I bought a toy wood-lathe which, like so many other things, found it's resting place in a dark part of the shed. Today I thought I'd dig it out and turn some wood into matchsticks. The tool rest is set too far back, but they are the longest handled chisels I own, so no worries there.

This shot is at the sync speed of 1/250th, shot with a tripod and a timer. I had a play at high speed sync but got the focus points wrong in my blurry PPE glasses, so you'll have to make do wit this one. Yes, we're kind of self isolating now. It's starting to look a lot like dystopia. And it's too wet to bother with a ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.