The comfort of small things

“But Piglet is so small that he slips into a pocket, where it is very comfortable to feel him when you are not quite sure whether twice seven is twelve or twenty-two.” 
AA Milne, Winnie the Pooh


Watching this little chipmunk today brought me comfort. I've been buzzing with anxiety most of the morning, but chatting on the phone with Memories4Me helped calm me, I'm so glad she called. T and I took a walk in the woods on her lunch break and that really helped relax me.

When T went back up to the loft I sat out on the patio in the sun. I read a bit, continued a text thread with my dear old friends from Camp Kiwanee and watched this little chipmunk. He had his fill of water, then just calmly stared at the big world. His worries are fears of cats, hawks and tiny wrens that sometimes dart at him. Mine are of the unknowns we are facing now, but the with hope that the comfort of small things will get us by. 

For the Record,
This day came in sunny and lovely.

All hands wary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.