The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

What are we gonna do now?

I posted on FB this morning:

"Secrets of my big pharma cupboard: I have spare paracetamol (Free) if anyone needs it. I have a hair kit, so I'm looking forward to a colour change. If anyone needs sanitary protection and the shops run out, I have some sanpro free. Ditto hand cream".

This seems flippant just twelve hours later.

I've been out round the block, delivering a thermometer and some paracetamol through a catflap. Our streets around this area are quieter than usual, though not deserted. It doesn't seem ok going anywhere when we've been told to stay at home, and I e been in contact with so many people at nursery or school.

While I was out, I received a text from school, asking me to check my email. There was nothing in my inbox. After a few hours, my boss sent it through. Not what I expected: more handwashing advice and suggestions of what might happen if we had to close at some point.

By this time, Scotland and Wales had announced school closures from Friday. England and Northern Ireland were told to wait till 5pm. Wales had mentioned that certain children would be allowed to stay on, so I was prepared when England announced that "vulnerable" children and "the children of key workers" could stay at nurseries and schools. Nurseries "are expected" to accommodate such children. Our nursery is not state -run. Most aren't.

So, who knows? Children in my nursery have key worker parents, or parents who work in our school, and of course we have vulnerable children on Education, Health and Care plans in nursery and (100%) in school. I'll have to wait and see what school and nursery says. I've volunteered to work on, and work extra, because I can, until I get ill. That won't be for long, I hope.

This all seems impossible and surreal. Talking to my siblings in Scotland, New Zealand and Greece, and with friends in Germany, it feels we are all stuck in the same disaster movie, but each with a unique take on it.

"Sleep well" they say at the end of news night. How can we sleep well?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.