Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Ready, steady.... Go!

Beautiful sunny morning today and I finally got myself out into the garden. I've ordered some lettuce, pea, runner bean and of course my favourite, sweet pea seeds so the soil needs to be ready for them.
I thinned out the raspberry canes - reminding myself as I hauled out all the runners why I had decided in the past not to grow them!!! The blackcurrants look good though, lots of buds and very sturdy looking.
The good news of the day is that when I poured out a pot full of water our resident frog was sleeping at the bottom. I didn't see him at all last year and feared we'd lost him. I quickly popped him into the bottom of the frog pond and eventually he woke up enough to push himself under the leaves and water. I'll leave clearing out the wee pond for a few weeks
I cleared out the veg bed, took all the old sticks off the peony, pruned the rosemary and topped up some of the pots with the compost from last year's growbags. I reckon I've done about a sixth of the main bed in the backgarden. If the weather holds out hopefully I'll get the rest done soon.
As a bonus, we'd never actually got round to harvesting last years potato sacks so tonight we had some home grown potatoes with our salad. Delicious and there are five bags to eat our way through.
We walked briefly into D'mains this afternoon keeping the required distance from those we passed on the way. It's amazing how many people won't meet your eyes or smile as they pass. I'm one of those awful people who greets everybody I meet or pass.
Got back to find one of my two parcels (identical as the order had been split into two) which were due to be delivered by Yodel. Yodel then texted to say that we had turned down the second parcel as it was damaged. Very creative as we weren't actually in but had left the porch open so the parcels could be left inside, which the first driver had done. I contacted the supplying company, not Amazon, as instructed and they were great offering a re-order or my money back including delivery charge. As I had actually ordered more than I needed by accident I was happy to take the latter. I did point out though that the delivery driver had not told the truth (For some reason, Yodel never seem to deliver well to us and we really couldn't be easier living as we do on a main road with parking available outside!).
Keep well everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.