Meet Flora and Bluebell

We started the day with a normal weekly shop...however there was nothing normal about it. I thought we should go to Morrison’s as Lidl had been sooo empty earlier in the week. And we didn’t want to buy too much, but it may have been a mistake. A small shop, only 4 bags of shopping cost a colossal £91.00 - we had been expecting it to be about £60. So we will be back to Lidl next week. If all they have is cat biscuits then that is what we will be eating!!! We went into the cafe which was interesting. Fairly empty and half the tables had been removed, so that all of the remaining ones could be spread out. A good idea.

Back home we spent half an hour making the area for the hens secure, and then went to buy them. Bluebell the grey one is a bluebell. Flora is a Light Sussex. They should be laying in 4 or so weeks. They have been friendly so far with Minnie although Bluebell has had a little go at her. I’ve just been to shut them in and was pleased to see Minnie had managed to get in the coop without any trouble, so I just know they will all be friends tomorrow. It was the first good thing of the day and gave me a boost seeing them out there.

The garden has been a lovely place to be today. Lots of birds and we even had a greater spotted woodpecker on our bird feeder at one point. It feels like it is really coming together.

Second really really good thing. When we got home, Jon and I both had a letter from the Land Registry telling us that they had been advised by Barclays that we had completed the payments on our mortgage. So after 32 years we are mortgage free!!! Relieved, and proud. Some of you will know more than others, how much that means to us. It has come just at the right time, with so much uncertainty especially as Jon is in a job where he won’t be paid if he doesn’t work. At least one thing we can’t lose is our home.

I did lots of planting seeds in my potting shed in the afternoon. It is such a lovely space. Tomorrow we are going to leave Mollie home alone - to be joined by her brothers after work, while we head 4 miles up the road with the caravan for our replanned weekend away in Cromer. It seems a bit silly, but I think the company is more important than the location. We will have each other, a pack of cards and bottle of wine, so what else could we possibly need?!!!

My extra photo is my third positive from the day - the beautiful early Mother’s Day flowers and vase my beautiful offspring kindly bought for me. I’m one lucky mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.