Forest and space to roam

Jan and I took a short walk today and after that I headed out on another cycle trip, doing the same circuit as yesterday but reversing direction, going anti-clockwise.  On the way round I looked up to this area of felled forest and snow. It is an area I've often walked to from our house, which lies directly over this hill.
It feels very spring-like at the moment but the birch trees in this picture  are mostly bare. It will be a while before they show those beautiful soft new leaves that are almost luminously green. There's still a good covering of snow, as you can see in the extra (which includes this picture.)
The baking itch is returning and once home I checked my sourdough starters and found my smaller culture had gone mouldy, so I threw it out. I was really shocked at that because I've never seen it before. Luckily the larger pot of starter was still okay so I decanted 50 g of starter and fed it. Maybe some sourdough tomorrow, or the day after.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.