Rodents rule

By squirk

Worm catcher

My escape from the flat bagged me a worm-catching robin, a perched peregrine and a green woodpecker (see extras). That's not bad for a jaunt down the road. The cemetery was blooming with primroses and wood anemones – beautiful. I sat on a bench and watched bumblebees and a tabby cat prowling amongst the headstones. I was surprised that there weren't more people walking about in this wild, green space.

The strangeness continues, but although I'm home alone, I'm not at all isolated. I spent a lot of time in the WhatsApp "tea room" chatting with friends and my designer rang occasionally with updates. I made some headway with my jigsaw.

In one outing into the garden I spied Juno's "mouse on a stick" on top of the fence. The stick part had fallen into the fencepost. I rang Fred to ask if he'd jammed it in there before he left, but he wasn't guilty. I suspect a cat burglar who miscalculated his escape over the fence with Juno's toy. 

The evening I found quite stressful as I volunteered to chair a meeting that, for me, was impossible to chair. I'm not good at being ruthless as I want to hear all of what people have to say, even if they go off-point. One of the difficulties was that six people were attending virtually while seven were present in the room, though keeping distant from each other. Another difficulty was when I said "Colin has something to say", both Colins would talk at once. A rookie error for not indicated the surname. I don't think I'll be asked to chair another meeting for quite some time! Phew. 

The upshot of the meeting is that we're sadly not going to hold the West Norwood Feast market until we get the all-clear, which could be months. Instead, we're looking to support our traders and the community in whichever way we can. Many of our traders rely on markets for their income so the hope is we can send people their way to buy online.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.