WORKING IN THE ALLOTMENT

The allotment at the back of my house has been neglected and unused for the past 5 years or so.  But when I opened my bedroom curtains this morning ....... big surprise.  New allotment holders were working hard.  There was a bonfire going.  A lady and 3 children were busy here and there.  The guy in my photo was sawing something - I couldn't quite see what.  And there was a dog -- that's what the guy is looking at. They were busy for most of the day.  It was great to see the allotment in use again and great to see a family getting out of the house, spending time together and maybe, later in the year, there will be fresh produce for them to take home. 

Musical link - BONFIRE Heart - by James Blunt ( The video is a good one - James would make a good blipper )

I walked down to the village this afternoon.  Not many people about and those that were were keeping a good distance from each other. 

At the chemists the door was locked and they were only letting 2 people in at one time so there was a bit of a queue.  There was a lady by the door who was opening it when it was your turn so that the pharmacists didn't need to leave the counter.  I recognised her as a lady who used to come to my fitness class so when I got to the head of the queue we had a bit of a catch up.

A box of flowers arrived from Becky for Mothers Day.  Nice surprise.  Neil, Rachael and I were going to head for Gibside tomorrow to go for a walk.  Its a National Trust property.  They had closed the buildings but the grounds were being kept open for walking.  However this evening the National Trust  announced all the grounds of their properties will now be closed.  They were worried that crowds of people would descend tomorrow for Mothers Day and self distancing would not be possible.  So we have had a re-think and have chosen somewhere else to walk.

Steps today - 7,692  ( some of these steps happened when I danced along with Olly Murrs on Ant and Dec's  End Of The Show Show. Great fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.