#Mood

I didn’t venture out today but the road outside sounded busy all day. I looked in Westonbirt’s twitter feed and they’d had to close they were so busy. I feared that may happen at the weekend so had decided to give my usual routine a miss.

Spent the day sorting bits of admin, checking in with relatives, hand washing some clothes and doing some sowing repairs. I did a few other jobs too - one felt rather unpleasant but had to be done.

I’m slowly deep cleaning the kitchen and it smells fabulous. I’m re-sorting the cupboards so things are in a logical order (well to me!) I have a rat trying to get in my kitchen (from the loft!) so I need to address that tomorrow. It will involve screwing rat poison to a plank of wood and also going into the loft *drumroll please* to put it down. This will be scary to do, as I’ve been living on my own since early January so I’ll have to have a friend on the phone to check I’m ok. I’m not too keen on being with rats in a confined space and I’m a bit wary of going into the loft after I had a head injury a couple of years ago. I dropped the loft ladder on my head and needed to have staples put in my head at A&E.

MrH thinks the rat is getting into the house via an open sewer and a hole in the outside wall. He’s asked me to fill the hole with small rocks and pebbles and mortar it up - I’m not sure I have the skills to do it but with a bit of luck there is some of that pre-mixed mortar in a tub around the house. If not it could get messy! I have to be careful mortaring around a water pipe apparently- I don’t even know what that means! Do pipes move/shrink/expand: get damaged by mortar?!! Eurrgh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.