KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

The Second Tulip

I spent the afternoon my big perennial border again this afternoon. I'm trying to get everything relocated and planted before the rain comes on Monday morning. It's a fabulous time of year to be renovating a garden....very cool nights and warm enough days (the warmth is for me!). We could use a bit of rain, but the plants don't seem to mind being moved. I can't wait to see what havoc I've wreaked! 

It was a gorgeous afternoon, once again. Talked with many neighbors walking by, discussing how we're all adapting to being and working at home...sometimes both parents with their kids out of school. Interesting times indeed! So far, everyone I know is healthy, including my 91 year old parents.  Miss seeing everyone dearly, but we're doing a good job of staying  in touch. We're luckier than some, for sure.

Today's blip is of the 2nd tulip to blossom in my garden...I haven't looked back to last year's photos to see how much earlier it is. The extra is a Grape Hyacinth (Muscari armeniacum). They're unrelated to the hyacinths that we know and love, but rather are in the Lily family (Liliaceae). They're rather rambunctious here in our temperate climate and can get out of control very quickly. So I try to keep them contained. But they are lovely to look at, and have a beautiful, mild fragrance. If you turn them upside down, you'll know where their common name comes from :-)

Be well dear Blipmates! I'm so grateful to have you in my life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.