Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Full Day #4

It started raining late last night and stormed all night and all through the day.  It never stopped, sometimes stronger than others.  It was sooo cold when I went out around 10:30 wearing as many layers as I could get on and a giant raincoat.  The man from Dallas and I were the only ones out, sitting next to each other under th umbrella.  It wasn't going to be much of a glorious day but I got what might be my favorite photo of the week.  This is a male Rivoli hummingbird(it used to be known as a Magnificent).  I don't know how but I managed to get a female, too (see the extra).

I brought a hummingbird feeder to hang on my porch.  At one point, I noticed that it was drained dry.  My first inclination was that the bats got to it but two of the yellow ports were pulled out.  I had heard a big commotion on the porch but thought it was just the storm.  Turns out that a ringtail kindly pulled them out, set them on the wall and sucked it dry.

Only in Arizona would they select a nocturnal animal to be the state mammal.

 (posted on Sat 21 March)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.