Then there was snow ...

2.4C with snow then sleet then rain then sleet ...

I took Maeve the Deerhound to the vet today. Time for her annual checkup and booster immunisations, and also kennel cough vaccine. I am happy to report she was deemed to be in tip top shape. In this colder weather she has even been eating well and she tipped the scales at 37kg today (5 stones and 12 pounds). No shaking in the waiting room today, and a nice young lady vet from whom Maeve accepted some some treats ... almost a first at the vets !

On the way home from the vet's we went to the Coop. A day early, but with snow falling I thought I might go today instead since we were out.

We also took the car down to the car park at Westhaven and I walked along to the Fishermen's huts. Maeve stayed in the car ... in the warm and dry. I got a few shots with some snow in them. There was snow on 'Wee Peem'! I chose to post this one of the snow on one of the blue tractors as it hints of the lack of visibility out to sea.

Back home and Maeve had a croissant corner :-)
Just a short walk after lunch today. The pavements and roads are very slushy.

Burn's night tonight. There will be Haggis. There will be glasses of Shiraz to accompany the fare !

In honour of the bard and our shared love of the highlands, and since it is snowing today, I give you this song from 1789 ...

Farewell to the Highlands, farewell to the North,
The birth-place of Valour, the country of Worth;
Wherever I wander, wherever I rove,
The hills of the Highlands for ever I love.

Chorus:
My heart's in the Highlands, my heart is not here,
My heart's in the Highlands, a-chasing the deer;
Chasing the wild-deer, and following the roe,
My heart's in the Highlands, wherever I go.

Farewell to the mountains, high-cover'd with snow,
Farewell to the straths and green vallies below;
Farewell to the forests and wild-hanging woods,
Farewell to the torrents and loud-pouring floods.

My heart's in the Highlands, &c.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.