Up on deck

Not at all bad today, a bit of scattered cloud about to break up the sunshine, but not enough to make me stay indoors!

I did a bit more fern frond clearing on the bank, with my neighbour John standing on the bottom of the ladder, trying to keep 2m apart! Back's still sore, but easier when standing up!

It was reasonably sheltered up on the deck, so I did a bit of potting up. Some bulbs from last year - various Muscari, Narcissus, and several pots of Scilla scilloides, the latter a gift some years ago from my late friend Jamie Taggart, and some new ones bought this year - Bessera elegans and five assorted Nerine bowdenii.  These will be stood in pots around the front door when in flower.

The sun was pretty warm and that end of the deck was sheltered from the wind today, so the cats and I sat out for an hour or so in the company of both Mrs M and Marianne North, the latter being unaware of it, of course, having left this earth 130 years ago!

Quote of the day:

Marianne North, 'Recollections of a Happy Life' - "I was advised to buy some tins of turtle-soup, and was amused to find they were made at Glasgow. They are too indolent to make anything in Jamaica." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.