It's my birthday and I'll ....

...sigh if I want to.  It's the big one. Change of status.  Looked in the mirror. Didn't see any difference from yesterday, but apparently, the Turkish government can, and have.

A morning at home alone wrapped in low spirits until a neighbour friend colleague called by, and gave me a card and a Cadbury's cream egg (which lasted less than half an hour!) Then the WhatsApp, Facebook and messenger greetings really started to roll in. Then another neighbour called to give me a card and plate full of homemade cookies and yet another texted to invite me to call by later, I assumed for a quick drink. Then a dear colleague knocked at my door to deliver felicitations and four bottles of beer !!  Then I got an invite to attend a virtual department meeting at 17.30 for my colleagues to sing to me. Things were looking up and I was ready to go out and stroll around campus wrapped in a mantel called 'maybe life ain't so bad' and it is a wonderful thing to have friends. Walking outside, even more neighbour friend colleagues wished me felicitations.  

An hour, a walk, a bucket of cat biscuits distributed and some photographs taken, I'm now in a virtual meeting with a beer and my colleagues, who are singing to me in beween laughing as we share our isolation. 

Then the coda of the day, down stairs to Marsha, for that drink. Only  it wasn't Marsha. It was Marsha and Randy and Caitlin and Sean and Shaun and Ruth, and it wasn't 'just' a drink,  it was full on dinner too, and there was even cake with candles and I was sung to for the second time today. 

My cup runneth over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.