“The greatest gift of life is friendship, and I have received it.” 
– Hubert H. Humphrey 


Dear Diary,
For someone who was not anticipating much of a birthday for the second Covid year running, today was truly memorable, and so for the record:

I surfaced mid morning, as usual, to discover a beautifully warmer than warm sunny day.  Before long, my phone rang, Maria calling to wish me a Happy Birthday and other catch up chat. Kat came to the door and delivered a plate full of still warm from the oven chocolate chip 'birthday' cookies.  Not long afterwards, my phone rang again and this time it was Koray, who after birthday congrats, took me on a virtual tour of the school where several more teachers and students called out Happy Birthday.  

Sitting in my super sunlit sunroom at 14.30 I logged on for the prearranged zoom call with Deniz, and stared open mouthed at my screen.  Deniz was there.  So was Alex, Celeste, Jack, Maria S, Narcisso, Erin who left RC a couple of years ago - and, huge surprise - Jeffrey, (early morning in the US) who left RC several years ago.  All my dearest friends and colleagues virtually together to serenade me on my special day which they did as soon as Koray joined from his previous meeting.  I tried (unsuccessfully) to hold back hot tears at this unexpected gathering of some of the people I truly love and care for most in the world. We chatted, laughed, reminisced and caught up with each others' lives for nearly an hour . 

Meanwhile a steady stream of felicitations via Facebook and Whats app. 

At 16.45 Graham and Kat announced they were ready, and we went into Akbuk to have drinks and early dinner at one of my favourite local restaurants, Esinti, newly opened for the season last Friday. Kat and I both wore frocks in honour of the occasion.  Although the sun was gone and the sky now cloudy, it was a splendid meal - thank you Graham for the treat - in comfortable isolation and super service (no other customers), preceded and followed by a leisurely drink before leaving not long after 19.00 (currently, restaurants must close at 7pm). 

The rest of the evening was devoted to more video calls. Firstly, as always on a Monday anyway,  mbfiatw Jean, then a lovely long chat with Viv and Mark in Romford, and finally, with Robin in Baku.

My cup, as they say, runneth over and my heart is full.



Too busy having a great day to take a great photo. Hey ho. 

Hubert Horatio Humphrey Jr. (May 27, 1911 – January 13, 1978) was an American politician who served as the 38th vice president of the United States from 1965 to 1969. (wikipedia)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.