Street scenery

Bright sunshine for my birthday!  I took the lunchtime mini bus to Didim, intending to treat myself to lunch at one of the seaside restaurants only to discover that they aren't open yet, its too early in the season, so I walked along the sea front and then went home again. At least the beach is clean and empty until the tourists arrive - it'll be jam-packed in July. It was quite a walk to the beach cos the bus dropped me off too soon, but that's ok because I got the pic of the snoozing woofers and added steps to my daily count. I've started one of those daily 'virtual' challenges - a nice easy 21km for the London Challenge where you virtually walk past various landmarks. 17km to go!

Robin (Baku) and I had arranged to video call at 18.00 but she had secretly arranged for Caitlin (Istanbul), Kat (next door!) and Ron, Yuki and Aya (Frankfurt) to join the call, and a surprise and very merry conversation was had by all for the next two hours and more!  Lovely talking to them all, especially as previous dinner plans with Graham and Kat had to be cancelled as Graham has tested +ve for covid :( - tho' he seems to be doing ok.   

Robin and I carried on chatting for another 45 minutes, making summer plans and even plans for next Christmas and New Year.  We've always said we'll take Aya to the Nutcracker ballet in London at New Year when she's old enough. Well, she'll be 7 at the end of October, so it's time to make those plans!!

Finally, a second video call with Jean (Kent) for half an hour , followed by some TV and knitting brought the day to a close. Lots of thanks to all who sent birthday greetings - real and virtual - especially my fellow musicians and Turkish brothers,  Deniz and Koray in Istanbul, for sending their video performance of 'Happy Birthday' with, as always, dear Deniz playing far, far, far too many notes xxxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.