Reed Bunting

I went for an early morning walk round the Maxey area, keeping well away from the very few other people I saw. Despite the rather biting north-easterly breeze it felt springlike and the whole of my walk was accompanied by birdsong - skylarks above, reed buntings in the reed beds, the rather manic laughter of little grebes from the pits, and dunnock, chiffchaff and yellowhammer in the hedgerows. A hybrid goose provided a bit of excitement, as did two common cranes flying over Etton-Maxey pits. I also found some badger tracks in the damp clay at Etton-Maxey.

I don't know how long we will continue to be allowed out, but we should only be visiting places reasonably near to home that are not likely to be popular and must give anyone we meet a wide berth (as well as a wave and smile). We all need to use our common sense at this difficult time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.