The Big Announcement

The PM has just made his big announcement and we can now only leave our homes for limited purposes and as someone who lives alone, I won't have any social contact in person for at least 3 weeks!  Much needed measures to save lives, but challenging nonetheless.

I took myself off to West Runton beach this morning as I didn’t know for how long I’ll be able to. A beautiful morning and although it was cold, it wasn’t windy so it felt much better than the other day. It was high tide, so I didn’t walk far as lots of flints higher up the beach, but I focused on the sea birds and the fishermen launching their boats. I also collected my wood stain from B&Q, sent some birthday cards and presents up to the end of April from the Post Office and ordered my Woodblocx raised bed kit. My replacement plug adaptor turned up today and my walking treadmill is now working :)

Can anyone identify the plane flying over the coastline today in Extras? 

Day 8 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 54 to 335; Italy up 601 to 6,077 and Spain up 462 to 2182 (with 2355 in intensive care and 1 in 10 confirmed infected being medical staff). Government stress that you should remain in your primary residence and not travel to hotels, caravans and holiday homes in the UK to avoid spreading the virus, overwhelming rural hospitals and taking food from local residents (a very welcome message in North Norfolk!). Rail franchise contracts have been suspended with the government net funding trains running an emergency timetable primarily for key workers. The UK has this evening been put into lockdown. Can only leave house for medical help, 1 form of exercise a day (not with friends), periodic shopping for basic necessities, travel to and from work where absolutely necessary. Weddings, baptisms etc cancelled and playgrounds and outside gyms to close. Non-essential shops to close immediately, but internet shops to stay trading as do banks and chemists. All gatherings of more than 2 people (excluding in your household) banned. To be enforced by Police where necessary. Emergency coronavirus powers expected to be passed tonight. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.